Acta Materialia Hollomon Materials and Society

The Acta Materialia Hollomon Materials & Society Award recognizes demonstrated leadership in promoting the understanding of the relations and the interactions between materials technology and societal interests/needs or contributions to materials technology that have had major impact on society.With this distinction Acta Materialia, Inc. not only intends to honor outstanding persons but also to improve the awareness of the fundamental importance and diversity of materials research, both within the community and the public at large.

The Materials & Society Award consists of a glass sculpture, an inscribed certificate, and a cash prize of US$ 10,000.

Candidates for this award may be proposed by Sponsoring or Cooperating Societies of Acta Materialia, Inc., by members of the Board of Governors, and by the Editors of Acta Materialia, Acta Biomaterialia, and Scripta Materialia Journals. In addition, the Sponsoring Societies’ annual Materials and Society Lecturer will be an automatic nominee.

The nomination package should contain

  • Curriculum vitae
  • Statement by the nominator specifying the candidate’s suitability for the award
  • Letters of support from three established scientists
  • Citation of not more than 30 words

Nominations remain in effect for three years unless withdrawn or re-endorsed, with additional justification, for an additional two-year period. Current members of the Acta Materialia Board of Governors and of the Award Selection Committee are not eligible.

The Award Selection Committee is formed of five judges, themselves distinguished materials scientists.

The Acta Materialia Materials & Society Award is awarded each year, unless the judges feel no candidate is qualified. The presentation is made at a venue approved by the Acta Materialia Executive Committee. The Award will not be bestowed in absentia except in extraordinary circumstances.

Nominations should be submitted to the Executive Secretary (Prof. Carolyn Hansson,, as a single file document preferably in PDF or Word format by 31 December of each year.

Hollomon Materials & Society Award Recipients


2017 Warren Poole Canada View Profile
2016 Julia Schoenung USA View Profile
2015 Tresa Pollack USA View Profile
2014 Karl A. Gschneidner, Jr. USA View Profile
2013 Jeffrey Wadsworth USA View Profile
2012 Millie Dresselhous USA
2011 Alan Taub USA
2010 Marc Meyers USA/Brazil
2009 Carolyn Hansson Canada
2008 Bhakta Rath USA
2007 Diran Apelian USA
2006 Praveen Chaudhari USA
2005 Alton D. Romig, Jr. USA
2004 Siegfried Hecker USA
2003 Larry Hench USA
2002 Craig Barrett USA
2001 Mary L. Good USA
2000 William Bonfield UK
1999 (No award made)
1998 Masato Sagawa Japan
1997 Merton Flemings USA
1996 Albert Westwood USA/UK
1995 Morris Cohen USA
1994 Robert Fullman USA
1993 Frederick Seitz USA
1992 Robert Jaffee USA
1991 Alan Cottrell UK
1990 Cyril Smith USA