• awards3

    2014-2015 Award Winners

  • awards2

    2013 – 2014 Award Winners

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Awards and Scholarships

The Acta Materialia Gold Medal has been awarded annually since 1973 by Acta Materialia, Inc., with partial support from Elsevier, Ltd. The criteria for nomination and selection are demonstrated ability and leadership in materials research. It consists of a gold medal, a monetary award, and an inscribed certificate.

The Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal Award was established in 2011 to recognize excellence in research and development in the field of biomaterials. The Award consists of the gold medal, a monetary award and an inscribed certificate.

The Acta Materialia Materials and Society Award (formerly the Hollomon Award) recognizes either outstanding career contributions to understanding of the relations between materials technology and societal interests or contributions to materials technology that have had major impact on society. The award consists of a monetary award, a glass sculpture and an inscribed certificate.

Acta Materialia Student Awards are monetary awards presented to student authors of papers published in the Acta journals, who are nominated by their faculty advisors as having made the major contribution to the work reported. Five awards are presented, two to authors in each of Acta Materialia and Scripta Materialia and one to an author in Acta Biomaterialia.