Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal

The Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal recognizes demonstrated leadership in the field of Science and Engineering of Biomaterials. It rewards either

  • materials research that has had a significant and lasting impact on the development of the discipline, or
  • recent work of great originality.

The awardee should be a recognized world leader in the field of biomaterials, whose accomplishments in discovery and translation to practice are surpassing and well known in the field.

With this distinction Acta Materialia, Inc. not only intends to honor outstanding contributions to the field but also to improve the awareness of the fundamental importance and diversity of materials research, both within the community and the public at large.

The Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal Award consists of a gold medal, an inscribed certificate, and a cash prize of US$ 10,000.

Candidates for this award may be proposed by any scientist/engineer/practitioner or any biomaterials related society, previous Acta Biomaterialia award recipients, Sponsoring or Cooperating Societies of Acta Materialia, Inc., and Editors of Acta Materialia, Acta Biomaterialia, and Scripta Materialia Journals.

The nomination package should contain

  • Curriculum vitae
  • Statement by the nominator specifying the candidate’s suitability for the award
  • Letters of support from three distinguished scientists in the field
  • Citation of not more than 30 words

Nominations remain in effect for five years unless withdrawn. Current members of the Acta Materialia Board of Governors and of the Award Selection Committee are not eligible.

The Award Selection Committee is formed of five judges, themselves distinguished biomaterials scientists.

The Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal is awarded each year, unless the judges feel no candidate is qualified. The presentation is made at a venue approved by the Acta Materialia Executive Committee. The Award will not be bestowed in absentia except in extraordinary circumstances.

Nominations should be submitted to the Executive Secretary (Prof. Carolyn Hansson,, as a single file document preferably in PDF or Word format by 31 December of each year.

Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal Award Recipients
2017 Allan S. Hoffman USA View Profile
2016 Klaas de Groot Netherlands View Profile
2015 Jack Lemons USA View Profile
2014 Larry Hench USA View Profile
2013 James M. Anderson USA
2012 David Williams U.K., USA
2011 Michael Sefton Canada
2010 Nicholas Peppas USA
2009 Buddy Ratner USA
2008 Robert Langer USA