Acta Materialia Gold Medal

The Acta Materialia Gold Medal recognizes demonstrated leadership in the field of Materials Science and Engineering. It rewards either

  • materials research that has had a significant and lasting impact on the development of the discipline, or
  • recent work of great originality.

With this distinction Acta Materialia, Inc. not only intends to honor outstanding contributions to the field but also to improve the awareness of the fundamental importance and diversity of materials research, both within the community and the public at large.

The Acta Materialia Gold Medal Award consists of a gold medal, an inscribed certificate, and a cash prize of US$ 10,000.

Candidates for this award may be proposed by Sponsoring or Cooperating Societies of Acta Materialia, Inc., by Members of the Board of Governors, and by the Editors of Acta Materialia, Acta Biomaterialia, and Scripta Materialia Journals.

The nomination package should contain

  • Curriculum vitae
  • Statement by the nominator specifying the candidate’s suitability for the award
  • Letters of support from three distinguished scientists in the field
  • Citation of not more than 30 words

Nominations remain in effect for three years unless withdrawn or re-endorsed, with additional justification, for an additional two-year period. Current members of the Acta Materialia Board of Governors and of the Award Selection Committee are not eligible.

The Award Selection Committee is formed of five judges, themselves distinguished materials scientists.

The Acta Materialia Gold Medal is awarded each year, unless the judges feel no candidate is qualified. The presentation is made at a venue approved by the Acta Materialia Executive Committee. The Award will not be bestowed in absentia except in extraordinary circumstances.

Nominations should be submitted to the Executive Secretary (Prof. Carolyn Hansson,, preferably as a single file document in PDF or Word format by 31 December of each year.

Acta Materialia Gold Medal Award Recipients


2017 John Jonas CANADA flag_canada View Profile
2016 Sungho Jin USA flag_usa View Profile
2015 David Embury Canada flag_canada View Profile
2014 Robert O. Ritchie USA flag_usa View Profile
2013 Andre Pineau France flag_france View Profile
2012 Terrence Langdon USA flag_usa
2011 Jay Narayan USA flag_usa
2010 Akihisa Inoue Japan
2009 Austin Chang USA
2008 Karl Gschneidner USA
2007 Herbert Gleiter Germany
2006 Subra Suresh USA
2005 George D.W. Smith UK
2004 Raymond Smallman UK
2003 Gareth Thomas USA
2002 Robert Cahn UK
2001 Chain T. Liu USA
2000 Anthony Kelly UK
1999 Jean Philibert France
1998 Tsuyoshi Masumoto Japan
1997 Peter Hirsch UK
1996 Vaclav Vitek USA
1995 Thaddeus Massalski USA
1994 Peter Haasen Germany
1993 William Nix USA
1992 Jerome Cohen USA
1991 Jun Kondo Japan
1990 James C.M. Li USA
1989 John Hirth USA
1987 Robert Balluffi USA
1986 Michael Ashby UK
1985 Egon Orowan USA
1984 Jack Christian UK
1983 Jacques Friedel France
1982 Charles Barrett USA
1981 Morris Cohen USA
1980 Hans Weertman USA
1979 David Turnbull USA
1978 Mats Hillert Sweden
1977 John Cahn USA
1976 Alan Cottrell UK
1975 W.G. Burgers Holland
1974 Bruce Chalmers UK
Note: In 1989 the nomenclature of the award was changed so that each year’s award is identified with the year of its presentation. Prior to this, the award was identified by the year in which the selection was made. As a result, there is no award identified with 1988.